RIP Ray Manzarek

20130522-230049.jpg

Evening readers, bloggers, friends and weirdos,

Today in the UK, we have witnessed (courtesy of many at-the-ready camera phones) just how crazy, screwed up and evil our world can be and as is duly the case these days after an event such as the Woolwich attack, our social media sites explode with hatred and bigotry, with people fighting between themselves instead of respecting the fact that someone has lost their life and somewhere right now, a family are in mourning.

And so I’m seeking safe haven somewhere other than Twitter and Facebook. Tumblr was a good bet. Still a million pictures of doughnuts, kittens and quotes about love. Wattpad was also a good option. Just a gazillion great reads that help you escape from reality. And then I remembered WordPress, a place I should definitely visit more often.

And so I’m here to pay respects and show love for another loss suffered earlier this week, albeit from very different circumstances, and I’m sorry for not commenting sooner on the passing of dear Ray Manzarek.

I, like many others, am exceptionally guilty of waxing lyrical about Jim Morrison and rarely mentioning the other three members of The Doors, all fundamental to creating some of my favourite songs of all time. And there’s no doubt that without Ray’s vision, The Doors would never have existed.

Recently my husband and I watched a documentary, which I think was on Sky Arts, all about The Doors and I don’t know how old the docu was, but in it we saw a tanned, good-looking white-haired Ray talking about his experiences of The Doors during Jim’s lifetime. I recall us laughing (although in a good-natured way) at the way Ray spoke….like a true product of sixties America, all like-wow-man narrative and I could clearly picture Jim and Ray during that first instrumental meeting discussing poetry, Dylan, music. And we can all go on about Jim until the cows come home (and I will always) but without Ray there was no band. Without Ray, maybe Jim would never have become a rock star. Who knows?

Ad so, albeit a bit delayed, I say thank you to Ray. For the passion, the vision and the awesome keyboard playing!!!

RIP you wonderful man xx

3 Comments

Filed under Music Monday

3 responses to “RIP Ray Manzarek

  1. Hi, Lindsey. I had just gotten home from another long day at work and was about to hit the shower when I checked my iPhone. My brother had sent a simple text, alerting me to this sad news. It bummed me out for the rest of the evening. I had planned to spend it, listening to the new Jamie Cullum cd. Instead, I listened to The Doors.
    I loved how positive Ray sounded in all the interviews I saw. He seemed to be living the life. Thankfully, we’ll always have the music, huh?
    Rock on, my dear friend!!

    -Jimmy

  2. Ray’s playing was a staple of The Doors. He’ll certainly be missed after such a long and fruitful career helping to create such haunting music. The Doors’ songs opened my mind to other realms of possibilities and cleansed my perception. I paid tribute to Ray when I heard of his passing by creating a new portrait of him and some melting doors which you can see on my artist’s blog at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2013/05/in-memoriam-ray-manzarek.html Drop by and let me know how The Doors influenced you too.

Leave a Reply

