#MusicMonday – Pulp ‘I Spy’

And you thought you had escaped another Monday without a Music Monday post…..’fraid not, muah-ha-ha!

This week’s offering to the musical gods is Pulp’s I Spy, probably my favourite Pulp song and hopefully not too predictable. I guess many people would go for Common People, maybe even a cheeky fancy for Sorted for E’s & Whizz, but I Spy is definitely my number one.

Jarvis Cocker: he of the floppy hair and spectacles and sadly too well-known now for bending over onstage during that infamous Brits show. For me, he’s just a fabulous lyricist, taking every day situations and experiences we can often identify with and wrapping it all up together in witty observations, sexy verses and provoking commentary.

I Spy is Jarvis at his best – the tale of the common man invading the world of the hoy-polloy Ladbroke Grover’s, sticking his two fingers up at their show-home lives by bedding their wives behind their backs. It’s a little bit naughty, a little bit dark and Jarvis to a tee.

‘You see you should take me seriously. Very seriously indeed.
Cause I’ve been sleeping with your wife for the past sixteen weeks
Smoking your cigarettes, drinking your brandy,
messing up the bed you chose together.
And in all that time I just wanted you to come home unexpectedly one afternoon
And catch us at it in the front room.’

Go check it out….the album Different Class is one of my all-time faves, it just never gets old and each song is a gem. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Music Monday

Leave a Reply

