I’m on Wattpad!

Thanks to the lovely Jeannette (@AutismMumma) I have finally reached out to a slightly wider audience of readers than my twitter, FB and blog friends and joined Wattpad.

If you have never heard of Wattpad – and don’t worry as I didn’t have a clue about it until this week – it is a free e-book reader app for such devices as the iPad, iPhone, Blackberry, Android, Kindle Fire and not only is it a chance to read stories of all genres, it is also a chance for writers of all genres to get their work out there to a much wider readership.

Jeannette kindly sent me a link to a great article about a young writer called Abigail Gibbs. If you haven’t heard of Abigail, chances are that you will very soon, or at least your teenage kids will be the ones to tell you all about her, as Abigail has recently been signed up by Harper Collins after an agent read excerpts from her novel The Dark Heroine on Wattpad.

Originally posted under the title Dinner With A Vampire. Did I Mention I’m Vegetarian?, in three years Abigail has amassed over seventeen million reads on Wattpad. If you’re a fan of young adult fiction, I would urge you to take a look. In fact if you’re an aspiring writer, I would urge you to check it out as having started writing this when she was just fifteen, I have to say that I am seriously impressed by the quality of Abigail’s work, although she herself apologises for any ‘horrific errors’ you might come across. Well, regardless of any grammatical errors that might be discovered, I wish I could have written anything nearly as good when I was just fifteen. In fact, I’ve seen worse writing by some adult authors so kudos to Abigail. I think she’s a great role model for young writers and proof that it really doesn’t matter how old you are, you can get your writing out there and get noticed.

So, I decided to check out Wattpad for myself. You can choose from many different genres, become a fan of your favourite Wattpad writers and vote for your favourite stories.

Yesterday I uploaded three short stories that I have previously posted on here: Cakes, The Stairwell and A Lily-Rose By Any Other Name. I am considering whether to post excerpts from Dark Sanctuary. I’ve always resisted doing much else with the vamp series, other than post the odd excerpt on here, but I guess posting on Wattpad isn’t too different from posting on my blog and also I’d be opening myself up to a wider audience of people who would probably not ordinarily stumble across my blog.

I would love if some of you would check me out on Wattpad, I’m under the username LittleCinnamon – please feel free to drop by and show me some support, as always, I am extremely grateful for anyone who takes time out of their day to read my stuff :-). Please go to http://www.Wattpad.com or download the app via the app world on your device.

Below are the covers I made for the short stories – nothing special I’m afraid, I’m certainly no cover artist, but these will do, even if just on a temporary basis.

Oh and also, whilst I’m here, please also check out Jeannette’s great daily blog http://bluecrisps.wordpress.com – Jeannette’s daughter has autism and reading this blog has really opened my eyes as to what it is like to raise an autistic child. The blog is emotional, uplifting, thought-provoking and always inspirational. You can also follow Jeannette on twitter @AutismMumma

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “I’m on Wattpad!

  1. I saw that article about Abigail and have also been considering joining Wattpad. I’m pretty sure she’s not the first who sold a book after posting it on Wattpad. Even if you don’t make a sale that way, seems like a great way to get exposure. I’m definitely going to check it out!

    • Well so far I’ve posted 4 chapters from Dark Sanctuary and have totalled over 270 reads across the chapters and that’s just from this week. So it’s definitely a good way to get exposure and definitely what I had hoped for. Let me know if you join up and what you username is and I will ‘fan’ you 🙂

  2. I’m so thrilled about the response you’ve been getting from posting on Wattpad! It makes me strangely proud to see you finally getting some wider recognition for your work.

    As an aside, I was only looking at the Dark Heroine the other day and was very tempted to buy, totally unaware it had started its life through Wattpad.

    • Wattpad seems to be going surprisingly well. Dark Sanctuary has received over 5000 reads so far across 27 uploaded chapters and I’m building a nice little fan base. It’s lovely to get such positive feedback 🙂

Leave a Reply

