#MusicMonday – Elbow – Starlings – Happy Anniversary Mr Clarke!

Music Monday time again and let’s just say I’m feeling all warm and fuzzy. I went to a wedding on Friday – my dear friend Nikki got married in a beautiful castle setting and the day couldn’t have been more perfect. As bride and groom signed the register, they played the instrumental version of Elbows ‘One Day Like This.’ Very fitting I thought and just an epic song.

Last night BBC3 showed coverage of Elbow at TITP and so I felt heartedly inspired to post about Elbow and the achingly wonderful words of Guy Garvey. I’m a sucker for a poet, as you have all worked out by now and there are very few songwriters these days that grab my attention as much as Mr Garvey. Whilst I know they are not everyone’s cup of tea, it’s the lyrics that reel me in.

Starlings, taken from the album The Seldom Seen Kid, is one of my all time favourite songs – and YES! It’s a love song, hence the warm and fuzzy feeling.

Plus today is my 7th wedding anniversary so I will dedicate this one to my darling hubby – 7 years wed today and together a whopping 18 years, which makes me feel incredibly old but also incredibly proud that the boy I met when we were both 18, is the man still with me today. I feel very fortunate to have him and our wonderful son in my life.

Happy Anniversary, Mr Clarke xx

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Music Monday

Leave a Reply

