#MusicMonday Pearl Jam

Pearl Jam – Black

Music Monday is back and time to go back to one of my first and also most everlasting loves.

Pearl Jam.  They marked the end of my love for boy bands and heralded the start of my passion for men who played guitars, had long hair and who didn’t feel the need to devise an elaborate dance routine to every song.

When I was 17 down came the NKOTB posters, I dyed my hair, bought a pair of Doc Martens, only ever wore black or purple and fell in love with Eddie Vedder.

Ok so admittedly as a teenager, the hair really swung it for me. But now I appreciate the lyrics more than I ever did. And yeah I still like the hair, but let’s pretend for the moment that I’m not that shallow.

Black from the album Ten is still one of my all-time favourite songs. It’s pure Vedder poetry at its most passionate. Fave lyrics:

I know some day you’ll have a beautiful life

I know you’ll be a star in somebody else’s sky

But why, why, why can’t it be, can’t it be mine?

Go listen, fall in love……

5 Comments

Filed under Music Monday

5 responses to “#MusicMonday Pearl Jam

  1. Dawn Marie

    *sigh* Ahh memories!x

  2. Nadia

    I was 14 when I this album exploded and I had a cassette player thing with earphones, what the hell are they called again?? I just played 10 over and over and thought I would one day grow up, move to Seattle and marry Eddie Vedder ahaha!
    His voice touches my soul and the lyrics were so moving *swoons*

  3. I’m ashamed to say Pearl Jam mostly passed me by. I do have this song, though, and about three others and I like them all very much. Maybe some more in-depth research of them will have to take place 😉

Leave a Reply

