Things To Do In Denver When You’re Un-dead by Mark Everett Stone

I haven’t reviewed anything in a while and this review has definitely been a long time coming, so to Mark Everett Stone, author of Things To Do In Denver When You’re Un-dead, I apologise profusely. No doubt he thought I had forgotten all about him, but that couldn’t be further from the truth.
Quite often when I’m reviewing, it seems I’m reviewing a book that I wouldn’t usually read, mostly because it’s from a genre that I would not generally be drawn to. This is not because I don’t like that genre, but because I’m a little elitist when it comes to my reading choices and tend to stick to straight out horror or paranormal thrillers.
So it feels incredibly good to be reviewing a book that would be my first choice to read, should I come across it on a book shelf or within the hallowed pages of Amazon.
Kal Hakala, senior agent at the Denver Bureau of Scientific Investigations, keeps Brownies (the sprite variety, not the cake) under his desk and demons in his head. Tortured by the death of his sister when they were children, Kal lives with a lust for revenge and a pure undiluted rage, that seems to surface just when he needs to dispatch a ghoul, zombie, vampire or other supernatural enemy back to The World Under.
Together with his team of kick-ass agents, magicians and a cyber-ghost, Kal is on a mission to track down Denver’s most notorious serial killer The Organ Donor, who has been killing people and leaving their organs stored in ice, telling the police to “give them to someone worthwhile.” The team know this is no ordinary serial killer case and set out to track down the Renfield (so called because he does a vampire’s bidding) behind it. Soon they find themselves embroiled in a mystery of body stealing, ghoul-raising and a race against time that is far deeper, darker and dangerous than a simple vampire hunt.
The action is definitely fast-paced and unashamedly blood thirsty; the violence is never sugar-coated nor watered down and soon you find yourself swept along with Kal and his team in a way that has you feeling every cut, every hit and every bruise. The characters knit together very well and you can’t help but feel the same respect and love for Kal that they do, but there is no doubt it is Kal himself who stands out and draws you in with his steely, furious determination.
Lathi-toting and bowie-wielding, the man has enough balls to draw in the male reader, whilst possessing just the right amount of brooding darkness to make the women readers fall in love with him. He’s the type of complicated action hero who would be right at home on the silver screen; he’s not perfect by a long shot, but don’t we just love that kind of tortured soul good guy who contains just enough grit and rage to keep us all gagging for more?
And thank goodness there is more. By the time I got to the end, I knew I was going to need more Kal Hakala in my life and did a little dance when I found out that there was a second book What Happens In Vegas Dies in Vegas.
For me, it gave me everything I crave in a paranormal thriller; I got my action hero, I got my ghouls, demons and vampires, I got more than my fair share of violence and blood and what’s more, I love the way Mark has weaved the threads of real life and myth together. In Kal’s world, mythical monsters are very much real and JFK, Thomas Jefferson, Hitler and Goebbels were magicians (the latter being something Mark investigates further in Vegas).
So if you’re looking for an unrelenting paranormal thriller or an edgy action story that will leave you needing more, then this is definitely the book for you. Go check it out!

20120422-121359.jpg

2 Comments

Filed under Writer Wednesday

2 responses to “Things To Do In Denver When You’re Un-dead by Mark Everett Stone

  1. kookiekelley

    Very cool, Thank you for the review!

Leave a Reply

