Sleep all day. Party all night. Never grow old. Never die. It’s fun to be a vampire.

Printed to promote the Alamo Drafthouse Cinema Screening of The Lost Boys. Artist: James Davis

 Yesterday I spent half of the morning lying on the office floor in shock. My colleague confessed that she had never heard of  the film ‘The Lost Boys; not that she had never watched it, she had never even HEARD of it.

‘Is it something to do with Peter Pan?’ she asked innocently.

Well, warm but no cigar, my dear. The title is absolutely in reference to the lost boys of J.M Barrie’s Peter Pan but whilst those lost boys spent their time fighting pirates and causing general mischief in Neverland, these Lost Boys cause mischief of a completely different kind. The blood-sucking and killing kind, to be exact.

If you have never seen The Lost Boys and you love all things vampire, I would totally recommend you check it out. Released in 1987 and directed by Joel Schumacher, The Lost Boys was the teen horror movie of it’s time. I remember having sleep-overs at my friend’s house when I was a teen and we would wait up until late and watch it – and there started my fascination with vampires and also my love for young American movie stars, called at that time, ‘The Brat Pack’. Pictures of Keifer Sutherland, albeit with a slightly dodgy bleached blonde spiky hairdo and Corey Haim (who sadly passed away last year in March, RIP Corey) covered every available inch of bedroom wall-space. Incidentally, The Lost Boys was also the first time I ever came across The Doors song ‘People are Strange’ although it was covered in the film’s soundtrack by Echo & The Bunnymen which in itself then spawned a love for all things Jim Morrison related.

It was simply a movie that played a big part of my teenage years. I was 12 when it was released and just starting my foray into the world of horror fiction, so The Lost Boys was totally up my street, from the storyline, to the characters themselves. Whilst it was the Lost Boy vampire David (Keifer) who always held my interest, I also had a definite soft spot for Michael (Jason Patric), the wayward teen and wannabe love interest of the impossibly beautiful Star (Jamie Gertz) and it was actually from The Lost Boys where I took the name of Michael for my lead character in The Sanctuary Vampires Series. For some reason, I just always liked the way it sounded.

Looking at the film now from an adult viewpoint and writer’s perspective, I think what I still love about this movie is that it still weaves a thread of reality through it’s storyline. It’s not a simple paranormal romance. It’s not an over-glamourized Hollywood portrayal of the vampire myth. It’s about learning to move on and function as a family after divorce (maybe something I connected to as a child as my parents had divorced when I was just 9), it’s about learning to start again in a new home and all the difficulties that come with trying to make new friends and fitting in, it’s about forging new relationships as an adult,  it’s about lust and love and wanting to ‘belong’. And the vampires, whilst not the worst-looking vampires you will ever come across, are pretty damn blood-thirsty and definately enjoy the kill more than some latter day vamps seem to.

For me, it’s a film that will never get tired and never grow old and I still love the tagline of the movie.

Sleep all day. Party all night. Never grow old. Never die. It’s fun to be a vampire.

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Random stuff

One response to “Sleep all day. Party all night. Never grow old. Never die. It’s fun to be a vampire.

  1. I was one when this was released! :O It’s stood the test of time well though (I like to think I also have, but that’s a matter of opinion) and now I really need to watch it again.

Leave a Reply

