Very cold turkey……no cranberry sauce included.

It’s Day 11.

If I were in a cell, I would have scratched out the days on the wall, probably using my own fingernails that are attached to these very useless fingers.

Day 11. We’re into double figures. That’s scary. Reaching the double figure mark frightens the Hell out of me.

Days 1-5 usually get shrugged off. I don’t like it, but I put it down to all sorts of reasons. Travelling, work, evening chores, sleep. I start chanting it like some kind of mantra, because that sort of makes it all okay.

Days 5-9. I’m getting twitchy. I can’t concentrate. Work is a struggle. I can’t focus and it just makes me wonder even more what the Hell I am doing here, other than working to pay the bills, or not pay the bills as the case might be. I’m getting irritable and doing anything to not think about it. Twitter, Tumblr, even Facebook makes a welcome return.

Day 10. I’m going mad with withdrawal. I’m actually going mad. Having crazy dreams about Noel Gallagher in an open top car, about visiting a vintage music memorabilia store, about studying Anne Rice’s ‘Violin’ at university remembering distinctly how it felt to run my fingers across the front cover, and Alex Skaarsgaard is the lecturer and he has a tiny bald patch on the crown of his head. I know when the dreams hit, my head is trying to tell me something.

Day 11. Here we are. Day 11. It’s been 11 days since I last wrote anything and the withdrawal makes my head hurt and my soul ache. Someone lock the door, pass me two buckets and let me climb the walls until it’s over.

 

7 Comments

Filed under Random stuff

7 responses to “Very cold turkey……no cranberry sauce included.

  1. Kana Tyler

    Having been on Day 11 more than once, I know there’s not much that another human can say that will be helpful… If I’d truly remembered the first day 11, maybe I’d have had the good sense not to put myself in the position of having to endure it more than once! So thank YOU for the potent reminder, and for whatever it may be worth… There’s life on the other side! (Which you already know, or you wouldn’t have endured 11 days already…) You’ll be in my thoughts. 🙂

    • Thanks for your kind thoughts! This weekend I am going to be focused and break through. I’m determined! Thanks also for following my blog, I can’t promise regular rambling drivel, but that’s probably a good thing 🙂

  2. Yowza! What an eloquently mind-blowing & accurate description of the withdrawal one who has been bitten by the writing bug experiences when the words just won’t flow. Honey, I may be just a simple blogger who’s only just recently been bitten by that writing bug for the time being, but I have beyond day 30 before & know the feeling. Have faith in the knowledge that this, too, shall pass & you’ll be back to your wonderful wordsmithing once again. Many people believe in you, just be sure you’re one of them. 😉

    When my friend, Mary Ann, realized I was frequently experiencing bouts of writer’s block coupled with a raging self-doubt monster & that’s why I’d been getting stuck, she sent me this article on the subject & it helped quite a bit. http://io9.com/5844988/the-10-types-of-writers-block-and-how-to-overcome-them After reading that, I finally started blogging on a more regular basis. She’s very good at figuring me out & kicking me in the hiney when necessary. *chuckles*

    Blogging the “Metamorphosis: Emerging From Darkness” entry, which examined & explained my blogging journey up to that point, how I was going to evolve & take a more balanced approach, & why I began blogging in the first place also helped. Writing that entry wasn’t easy, as I was opening myself up completely to everyone, but it was cathartic & got the writing wheels turning again. Another blog entry that happened by chance from a friend blog-tagging me for fun–“I’ve Been Tagged! 10 Random Facts About Me”–was actually more helpful than I would’ve guessed in alleviating the block, as well, so feel free to have a look & play along. No, I’m not trying to toot my own blog horn here, I’m just pointing out a few entries that helped me get over the speed bumps & get my blogging engine flowing again on the off chance that they may be of use to you to assist in overcoming your writing withdrawal.

    I hope you get out of your rut soon & begin feeling better, Lindsey. I’m sending lots of positive thoughts & energy your way. Blessed Be.

    • Hey toot your own blog all you want, in fact I’ve added a link to my blogroll so people can go find it. Am definitely also going to check out the rest of your posts. I’ve not got into the whole blogging thing nearly enough yet and need to spend more time checking out people’s posts as always find it quite inspiring, especially when you see other writers mirroring your thoughts that you might never have admitted before.
      I managed a teensy weensy bit of writing today, am about two-thirds of the way through the second in the Sanctuary series but it’s slow going which worries me as the first one flowed so well. But I’ll get there eventually. I think haha.

      • You will definitely get there, hon. I’ve got faith in your talent. At least you have a book written & a WIP. I started to put my toes in the water of writing publicly by blogging. In other words, I did it backwards & in the beginning I was an opinionated little ranter. I’m starting to ‘grow up’ though (hopefully), the more I read & write. I’m not one of those folks who can say they’ve ‘been writing stories since they could hold a pencil’, either. Talk about intimidating. *chuckles* I finally have a story/potential book starting to formulate in my mind, though, & I probably should be taking notes before shiny squirrels distract me & steal it. Is there a widget for squirrel control? LOL! Just kidding. 😉

        I’m so honored that you’d put me on your blogroll. Thank you. 🙂 I was just hoping you’d find something useful to help jog the writing flow by seeing where & how I got stuck. I’ll return the favour when I figure that part of the widgets out.

  3. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  4. I really felt for you when I read this the first time. When you love to write and use it as an escape, a way to wind down, it’s hellish when life or just plain writer’s block gets in the way. I’m so glad you managed to get back on that wagon after this was posted.

Leave a Reply

