#SampleSunday – teeny tiny excerpt from Sanctuary 2

The sun blinked through a fissure in the clouds, casting its beam across the landscape like the death ray emitted by the alien crafts in The War of the Worlds.

I drove as fast as I could, feeling like I would have to swerve the points where the light touched the ground, lest it hit Michael and set him ablaze, and myself and the car with him. In the back seat of the car, covered so completely that I could not see one inch of him, he moaned out his fear and I pressed harder on the accelerator,  feeling the panic grow inside me with every passing second.

Suddenly I knew instinctively what it must feel like to fear the sun.

Copyright (c) Lindsey Clarke 2011

1 Comment

Filed under Lost Creatures

One response to “#SampleSunday – teeny tiny excerpt from Sanctuary 2

  1. Eek! So much suspense here! I may have read the whole of Lost Creatures now, but re-reading parts like this makes me tense just like the first time I read them!

Leave a Reply

