Introducing the vampire …continued

I had been barely two years old the last time I had seen this vampire. He looked no different to how he had then, brown hair with a reddish tinge, still long enough on top to fall down over his eyes and curling slightly at the nape of his neck. He was tall, possibly about six feet, broad shouldered and slim at the waist. His skin was pale and face-unshaven. He breathed deeply and sharply but did not say anything. Instead he just stared at me with what seemed to be a mixture of anger, pain and shock.

‘I know you, don’t I?’ I whispered again and when he still said nothing, with anger reborn, I pushed my weight against the fork feeling it move ever so slightly deeper into his gut and he cried out in agony, his eyes flashing a quite noticeable gleam of hatred.

‘Yes, sensor! We have met before’ he spat between clenched teeth.

‘What are you doing here? Why are you in my house?’ I asked, glaring at him and no caring for the pain he was in.

He hesitated and seemed to be thinking over what to say next. I had the urge to jab him again but before I could he spoke up.

‘I had to stop you from leaving’ he said simply.

I didn’t think my jaw could have hit the floor anymore, but it did and I stared back at him wide-eyed and in disbelief.

‘How….how did you know I was going to leave?’

Could this vampire read my mind?

His chest rose and fell in short shallow breaths and he winced sharply at every movement.

‘Is there any chance you might remove this?’ he said, nodding down to where the fork pierced his flesh.

‘If you think I’m just going to let a vampire go free, you’re mistaken. You didn’t answer my question! How did you know I was leaving?’

‘I don’t know….I just felt it’

He looked away quickly and then looked back, locking eyes with mine again. There was something about the way he looked at me, that unnerved me. It didn’t make me fear him anymore than I already did; it just made me feel very uncomfortable. Apart from that one split second, he had not stopped looking into my eyes, but what I saw there seemed to be tinged with awe. I guessed that he hadn’t been spiked by a human before.

‘You…felt it? What the hell does that mean?’

‘I don’t know, I can’t explain it’

‘Well maybe you should try!’ I spat, edging closer and more blood began to seep through as the fork pushed into his flesh.

His back was up against the wall outside my bedroom and he could move no further. I knew I could have finished him here, but for some reason, stupid curiosity got the better of me.

‘Stop!’ he cried ‘Stop…..please’

‘Then just tell me and I will’ I said, but I was pretty sure that I was lying.

He inhaled deeply and rested his head back on the wall, his shoulders visibly relaxed and he appeared calmer, almost resigned to his fate.

‘You always run’ he answered softly.

 

Copyright (C) Lindsey Clarke 2010

1 Comment

Filed under Dark Sanctuary

One response to “Introducing the vampire …continued

  1. I love this ‘proper’ introduction. There’s suspense immediately beforehand and then BAM! some action and some humour both at once, along with that feeling of enjoyable confusion where you’re desperate to keep reading to find out how everything ties together.

Leave a Reply

