Blood Wars

Book 3 #samplesaturday

Don’t you just hate that feeling when someone is staring at you? The hairs on your neck tingle and and it feels as if something is creeping all over your skin and you just know that if you turn around, their eyes will be upon you, but you just don’t know why. Do you have something on your face? Is your hair a strange colour? Do they find you attractive? Or are they staring at you because they are wondering which body part to cut off first and whether there’s enough room under their floorboards to stash your rotting remains?
There’s that horrible moment when you are unsure whether to ignore the feeling or whether to search them out. And if you do decide to look to see who is taking an interest in you, what do you do? How do you react? Do you turn away quickly, embarrassed, hoping that they will stop looking once they’ve realised you’ve sussed them? Or do you stare back, brazenly eyeballing them as if daring them to keep on looking? Go on. I dare you.
Unfortunately for me, the sensation of being stared at is often coupled with another sensation; one that sends pins and needles shooting through the back of my neck, across my shoulders and down my spine. In extreme cases, it comes along with its friend, Nausea and together they ruthlessly grip me until I am brought to my knees in tortured submission.
And all this is also usually accompanied by running, screaming and more than your average amount of blood.

Copyright (c) Lindsey Clarke 2012

Leave a comment